Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage 2012

The Department for Education (DfE) has published the new statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (EYFS).This sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well, and are kept healthy and safe.

Early years providers play key roles in promoting accident prevention messages and delivering accident prevention work.

Section 1 of the framework sets out the learning and development requirements for children. There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design.

While there are opportunities to help young children learn about safety in each of the seven areas, the EYFS highlights children learning to safely negotiate space and to talk about ways to keep healthy and safe as part of health and self-care within physical development.

Section 3 of the framework sets out the safeguarding and welfare requirements for early years providers. This includes issues such as:

  • dealing with an accident sustained by a child (paragraphs 3.48-3.49)
  • the safety of premises, environment and equipment (paras 3.53-3.54)
  • risk assessments (para 3.63)
  • outings (para 3.64).

The EYFS is mandatory for all early years providers from 1 September 2012. This applies to:

  • maintained schools
  • non-maintained schools
  • independent schools;
  • and all providers on the Early Years Register.

Look out for CAPT’s Accidents and child development resource out later next month which will be a key resource for early years practitioners.

Related links

Visit the DfE site to read the framework:

The Foundation Years website also has the framework and supplementary materials:

Updated April 2012